Refashion

Morag gave me a nightie of hers with the tags still on with the suggestion that I cut it up and make something. So I did.
I wish I had taken a ‘before’ picture – I’m a terrible blogger. It was a longish ladies nightie with spaghetti straps if that helps you imagine the ‘before’. And now it’s this dress.
Ta da.

I used this tutorial which I have to say was great. I haven’t had much success making my own patterns before but due to the nature of this gathered peasanty style number this worked out well.
Where I did run into problems was with the whole shirring thing. I didn’t think I was ever going to shir well (what? ‘shir’ is totally a verb). What I should have done is read this very helpful tutorial on the matter. I think my main problem was my tension was set too high on the machine and I wound the elastic thread too tightly around the bobbin. I’m not exaggerating when I say it took me longer to sew three lines of shirring than the entire rest of the project. My seam ripper saw a lot of action.
I attempted to make a pair of pants as well but I knew they were not going to be big enough to cover a cloth nappy and I ran out of material. Next time.
I had tons of scraps though so I made a headband using this, without the bow. Of course it was too small so will need to adjust – I momentarily forgot I produce babies with massive heads…….
Would it be really tragic to make a headband for me using the rest?

Right, what’s next?

2 thoughts on “Refashion

  1. Three things
    1) was thinking about you as I ran around central park this morning, i dont have your accurate homing radar, nor did I manage to meet up with Sean and Pudding on their morning walk – but i did run harder trying to find them
    2) Please don’t scare me again with reference to the size of the Goodlet babies heads!
    3) I totally think you could have your own fashion line – she is so cute.

Leave a Reply

