Running

It all started with this armband and Nike + sensor which I got free with my iPod 3 years ago and assumed I would never use and maybe Greig would find them useful at some point. And then over Christmas I came across lots of pins (on Pinterest) for the Couch to 5K running plan . I decided to give it a go. Starting the first week in january I began running in the morning before Greig left for work. Well I say running but at the beginning of the plan it’s half walking and running and then you build up to running 3 miles in 30 minutes. And much to my surprise I’ve done it, completed every run over 10 weeks. I’m astounded to be honest. Mainly because it hasn’t been that hard. Getting out of bed and running before your brain catches on to what your body is doing is definitely the key to regular exercise for me so I’m grateful that Greig leaves a bit later for work since starting at the Herald. Running at 7.30am is bearable, earlier than that would require a whole new level of superhero style commitment.
Of course now I’ve completed it I need a new goal. I need a plan to follow so I don’t have to think too hard about what I’m doing so I can just get it done. So I’m going to train for a half marathon. Yes, do no adjust your monitor, I said half marathon. It’s kind of an abstract concept at this point and I’d like to keep it that way so unless you have something positive to say, keep it to yourself:)
And on that note I’d like to say thank you very much to the lady who gave me some whoops as I ran (very slowly) past her up the hill towards Middleton Hall, you rock lady and you made my day.

One thought on “Running

Leave a Reply

