TOMS, my carrot

So when I started the couch to 5k I knew that the stick motivating me was to improve my health and fitness and take my weight down to a more healthy level for my benefit and to be a good example for B and G. But let’s be honest that’s not necessarily enough to get me out of bed on a cold january morning. So I added a little carrot to the mix. I found a pair of TOMS on pinterest that I loved, I pinned them and promised myself I would buy them if I completed the ten weeks. I ran for those shoes. As I ran I listened to Paulo croon about his new shoes and I thought , me too Paulo, I’ll soon have new shows and suddenly everything will be right.
The shoes were more expensive than I probably would have paid but a carrot has to be indulgent right? And then I started reading ‘7’ by Jen Hatmaker. And I couldn’t stop thinking about this book.
The premise of TOMS is ‘one for one’. For every pair bought a pair will be given to a child in need. It occurred to me that my first world problem of being overweight and unfit was totally within my control. I could (can) fix it and it was my doing to get here in the first place. Here I was consuming yet another pair of shoes, welcoming them into my privileged existence as a reward for something I probably should have been doing anyway. With the price of these shoes I could no doubt buy 20 pairs of shoes for children in need, maybe more. Do I really need new shoes? Absolutely not, I have more than I need already.
So what does this mean for my carrot? Well I ordered the shoes. And they are lovely, and I will no doubt get great pleasure in wearing them. I suspect though that when I slip them on I will continue to question my need to ‘have’ them in the first place. I just feel a little uneasy about them and I’m not sure that I’m going to enjoy getting to the bottom of what that is.
I would recommend reading 7 if you get a chance. It’s definitely written from a Christian viewpoint, but it has food for thought for everyone.

One thought on “TOMS, my carrot

Leave a Reply

