Bad Sewing Mojo

I wanted to spend some time sewing last night but I was in a bad mood – for no good reason – but let’s just say I was not in good fettle.
Be warned, if you sew in a bad mood you will have bad sewing mojo. And things will go wrong and then you will be in an even worse mood. Unless you have a husband who will model bonnets, then you might just laugh.
Remember a few days ago when it was baking hot? You know, before this incessant drizzle started. Grier’s sun hats kept blowing away so I went in hunt of one with a strap. And the lady in Mothercare was exceptionally helpful except everyone in the world was buying sun hats on account of it being unseasonably warm so there were none left. Well none that you would actually put on your baby’s head. So I thought I could just add a strap to one she already had. And then I thought I could make one of those really cute (impractical) bonnets I’ve got pinned. Excellent.
So I used this tutorial. It mentions that the pattern will yield a smallish hat so I scaled it up a bit for Grier. Only I made it big enough to fit Greig. No joke. This picture doesn’t really illustrate how enormous it is.

The tutorial was good though, easy to follow and I would use it again – more on that later. Threading the elastic through was a bit of a pain.
So today, with sewing mojo back intact – or so I hoped I tried again. This time I used plain white cotton not the dotty stuff I used on ye olde giant bonnet and I made the ties shorter. It was much better in size – I used the pattern as it prints for my 9 month old who has a generously sized head. I would go as far to suggest that the ruffle could have been bigger? I’m not sure it will actually provide as much sun protection as I would like but it’s cute no? And I can save the giant one for when Grier appears in High School Musical – The Pride and Prejudice Years. Or until we visit the Amish.

One thought on “Bad Sewing Mojo

Leave a Reply

