Done. Boom. Never again.

The half marathon is done. I crossed the finish line with Brodie which almost made up for the misery of the previous 13.1 miles. Almost.
Things didn’t start well when I realised I had forgotten to pick up my Nike+ sensor which rendered my iPod, well just an iPod really. It meant I would have no idea about my pace or distance as I made my way around. But Caroline, you’re thinking don’t they have mile markers to tell you how far you’ve run? Why yes they normally do, but not when you are in the last few people running and therefore everyone wants to pack up and make their way home so they take away the helpful things like direction arrows and mile markers. I’m gutted that I didn’t log the 13.1 miles as well – think how pretty that would have looked on my graph!
I really struggled with not knowing what my pace was. Two weeks ago I ran 10 miles in 1hr45min so I reckoned I could do that last 3 miles in 45 mins easily. Bwa ha ha ha. Yeah, not so much.
I picked this particular run because of its proximity to home and so I wouldn’t disrupt my family too much. I didn’t really put too much stock in the fact that it was a small event, almost entirely made up of ‘serious’ runners. These people were not fun runners if you know what I mean, not that I had fun, don’t misunderstand my use of that word. The course itself was mostly along a cycle track and involved a big loop. The scenery was mind numbingly boring on the way out and forget about the way back.
What saved me was my Dad appearing on his bike around mile 8. Had he not been there I think I may have sat at the side of the M8 til someone came looking for me. After that I felt disoriented as there were no markers or landmarks to follow and because of the small numbers and my slow pace I ran pretty much the whole way on my own. Occasionally a dog walker or cyclist would pass me and look at me quizzically. Didn’t the rest of the runners pass by an hour before this?
The mental part of keeping going when I had idea how far I’d run, how far I had to go and if I was running 48 minute miles (it sure felt like it) were kind of disheartening. Yesterday I was confident my training would get me there.
I should have researched the route more thoroughly so I knew what to expect, I should have chosen an event with more atmosphere and less bog of eternal stench cycle path through Blackridge. I should never have let those two people pass me on the final 200 yards, sprint finish where were you?
I’m happy though. I set out to finish and I did. I ran and ran and ran until I thought my wee legs were going to give in on me. It didn’t matter that I was last to finish the line.
My lovely sister-in-law sent me this

Thanks Lou! Could this be any more appropriate? I think not.

Also my bruv crossed a triathlon finish line yesterday which is amazing. Really, that is dope Bro.

Well done Kerry the Bullet Bell and Vikki the slightly slower Bullet Snedden, you are really way better friends that I probably deserve for making you do this.

I’ll get back to you on the ‘never again’ part……….

4 thoughts on “Done. Boom. Never again.

  1. Congrats Caroline, what a fantastic achievement. We’re very proud!! Sorry we could not be there to see you on the day.

    Really not easy to stick with a program but I hope that it was worth it in the end. Great job.

  2. on the upside you ran more than i ever have in my life in one day and your hair actually looked quite funky when you took your hat off!! (i’m being serious btw, in case there’s any confusion) serious congrats sis 🙂 if i ever need a getaway piggyback you’ll be the first i call!xx

Leave a Reply

