My Besties are leaving town

Vikki and Kerry are moving to Melrose Montrose in the morning. I totally didn’t get those two places muddled up ok?
Whilst I am tremendously happy for them, following their dreams and all that, on a selfish note I’m a bit sad. Ok, I’m a lot sad.
Vikki has been my BFF for a long time. We have a lot of shared history. She has seen the best and the very, very worst of me. She actually answered the phone when I was writing my dissertation and having a complete meltdown over losing the ‘n’ key on my keyboard (not that I threw it across the room in a fit of rage), when a lesser woman would have checked the caller id and skipped the call. She stayed with me the night before I got married and didn’t bat an eyelid when I was ugly sobbing (happy tears) while reading a letter from Greig, she just handed me my glass and a tissue. She didn’t mind when I started bouncing about the bed the morning of our wedding. She just put on the dress and did her bridesmaidly duties with aplomb.
When she tells me I look nice and I know she means it and it means the world to me. I would trust her with my life and she loves my children fiercely. We can easily spend 8, 10, 12 hours talking about everything and nothing.
And Kerry holds a special place in my heart. She is the love of my love.
I’m not worried about V and K being far away though because we’ve spent years being hundreds of miles apart and it never matters. As soon as we are in the same room it’s business as usual. Half told stories randomly interrupted with memories or hoots of laughter. We will see them again, soon.
Fill your new life with wonderful things. See you in Melrose Montrose. I promise to let Greig do the google maps thing.

photo credit Kerry Bell

2 thoughts on “My Besties are leaving town

Leave a Reply

