Blazer

We are hoping for invitations to 3 weddings coming up and finding nice and different things for Brodie to wear is really hard. He is only 3 and I don’t want him to be dressed like a teenager. I’m not a fan of kilts on very young boys – they don’t look comfortable to me so I thought I might try to make something a bit different. I first came across this blazer and fell in blazer love. I absolutely love the fabric but I knew I would want something just a bit less funky for a wedding. I loved the piping and the pockets and knew I wanted to try my hand at it.
The pattern is by Melly Sews and is from here

Here is my version of the Toddler Blazer!

Toddler Blazer

Toddler Blazer

I think in reflection the buttons are a a bit big and I need to make the seam at the back bigger to nip it in a bit. I love the piping but close up it’s a bit messy – I have ‘misplaced’ my zipper foot so the piping was a bit sloppy before I added it to the jacket. I wasn’t brave enough to try pockets – maybe next time? But other than that I’m pretty happy with it.

I always notice loose threads after I’ve taken the pictures – so annoying.

Toddler Blazer

I’m not going to lie – there were plenty of moments when I wanted to give it up. First I didn’t read the pattern instructions well at all. Like the bit where the author says if you live outside of the US your paper will be the wrong size and your printer will not be able to print the pattern correctly. Gah. Cue lots of pouting and head scratching. I eventually got the pattern pieces sorted and it was relatively plain sailing from there. The original pattern doesn’t have piping so it was trial and error working out where to put it (lots of errors). The pattern is well written but I just seems to be a bit random when it comes to following instructions.

Toddler Blazer

What do you think? I’m going to attempt it again with off white corduroy which could prove to be a trickier fabric to work with. What colour lining do you think would be good? Any other nice patterns you know of?

6 thoughts on “Blazer

  1. Very cute! BTW, I will have a revised version of this pattern next month, and one of the things I’m taking care of is the printing issue for those outside the US. Watch your e-mail for an update!

  2. Really cute. And best of all it looks like Brodie is happy to wear it too! I love your fabric choices and hey… who will notice any imperfections apart from you? If anything it verifies that it’s hand made. Nobody will believe you otherwise! 😉

  3. totally cute and you could make grieg a matching one!!!! I suggest pink lining with the off-white as its my favourite and brodie can totallly pull off pink 🙂 xx

  4. Brodie looks amazing in the blazer! I love the colour and the lining too.
    I would go for pale blue (checks or stripes) for the lining in the next one -sure that colur choice won’t be a surprise. Do agree with Auntie Isla though -he could pull off pink! Well done. Mx

Leave a Reply

